T’was Bound To Happen

DSCF0728My first copyright fight.

It all happened on Wednesday last as I was idly pushing through my Facebook pages. An event popped up and then down again – two opposing groups are struggling for control of a hot rod show and using Facebook as their battleground. Normally I would take no notice except in this case an image I had taken and posted on my sister blog was up at the top as a profile pic.

I checked it carefully, and made sure I did really have proper claim to it – in this case by 3 months – and then investigated the ways in which you protest the unauthorised use of an image. Facebook have a long, but logical procedure for this, ending in a way of making a legal claim for protection.

I did, they set their machinery in motion, and the issue was resolved in 4 hours. No damage to anyone in the process, I hope, and my image returned to my own control.

I am pleased to see that there is some rule of law. It now behooves me to behave correctly myself. No more putting up Leonardo Da Vinci paintings and claiming them as my own.

Leave a Reply

