Dangerous Advice For Free

DSCF6385This week in my paid camera shop blog I called people’s attention to a special end-of-financial-year offer being put on to try to gain a few sales for the next three days. I daresay it will work to some extent – there are price drops on regular equipment and supplies  that would be good to take advantage of. I don’t need anything and I can’t justify spending on new gear – the most I’ll pop for is a couple of boxes of 5 x 7 glossy paper.

I singled out one camera and lens for mention as it was the best percentage drop for new and sought-after gear in the offer – the Pentax K-1 with the 24-70 f:2.8 lens. I’d handled it at the launch party and reviewed it for a week and am quite happy touting it as a good thing. But I am wondering now whether I have said the right thing in doing so…

Briefly, I told people to look at the lenses they owned – if they were Nikon or Canon users with a mixture of DX or EF and FX or L lenses they should pass further down the car…based upon the fact that they had a financial stake in their own lens mounts that could take them on to a full-frame camera. They should stick to their last.

Conversely, if they had ONLY DX or EF lenses then they were going to have to buy bigger glass anyway and could justify jumping ship to a Pentax mount with the new camera – indeed older Pentax users are out of luck – they have to buy new lenses too.

I am wondering if this is a sales turn on or turn off…hopefully the former. We frequently need to give ourselves permission to step out of the box or seek new fields of endeavour even before we canvas to opinion of the family or the accountant. And we need others to approve.

The question of the need for a full-frame camera vs a half -frame one is entirely a separate issue and not covered in this post. I suspect that most people who change systems regard it as an upgrade ( which it may or may not bee, depending upon circumstances ) and persuade themselves to it long before a salesman opens their mouth on the subject. It was funny to find yourself in a reversal of positions – smiling and nodding as the customer sold the camera’s features to you and triedto get your agreement.

I always used to agree.

 

Leave a Reply

