The Pudding Has Been Proved

Well, I took my courage in hand this morning, screwed it up, and pushed it into a portable camera bag. Then I took it out on a full-scale shoot for my weblog coumns…and brought back the bacon. Actually I brought back 96 images, two paintings, and an extremely sharp miniature chisel which I will drive into my hand some day…

The courage this morning was required because I only took one, prime, lens. And it wasn’t a normal Fujifilm lens – it was a $ 99 Chinese special that I picked up on a whim from Hong Kong…the 25mm f:1.8 silver compact lens. It’s totally manual and therefore needs re-setting to the working aperture every singe time you use it. It seemed ludicrously inexpensive for the X – series body.

The X – series body chosen was the X – T10 because it has a waist-level view of the world when you fold the LCD screen down. The model railway exhibition has many layouts that are best seen from right at track level to give the maximum realism.

As the images were for weblog column use they could be taken at 96 pixels per centimetre and 1200 x 800 size…this meant that noise was not too much of a problem and an ISO of 2500 could be set.

The business of manual focusing is a breeze with the focus peaking feature of the Fujifilms. I set mine to sharp red and then just move the area of red over the bit I want focused. In slow work like and exhibition I do not mis the autofocus at all. The opening and closing of the aperture for viewing and shooting is a bit of a pain, and this lens does not have click-stops on the aperture ring…the only real flaw. But when you hold the X-T10 at waist level with one hand, two fingers of your other hand fall right under the focus and aperture rings and it all becomes easy after a bit. It reminds me of using the old Exakta Varex VII B but in reverse.

I am delighted with the sharpness and contrast of the lens, and any out of focus images were up to me, rather than the optics. It has more than proved itself as an aesthetic addition to the tourist kit. It even caught Fred Rance at his stand – before I bought those paintings.

Leave a Reply

