And there it is…

They have finally admitted they were wrong.

Fujifilm issued an excellent lens in the 27mm f:2.8 Fujimon. I have two examples and they ride on my travel and report cameras all the time. The heading image was taken with one on the Fujifilm X-E2 and is perfect for my purposes. The lenses are compact pancakes – sturdy and easy to use. They focus closely enough for most purposes.

However, they do not have aperture rings – you adjust this function with the thumb wheel on the camera body. A minor affair, ad as convenient as any. They also have an odd size lens edge;39mm. This was common as a lens size in the early Leica M era and filters and lens hoods were available then…but not now.

I make do with an old bellows from a film camera forced over the lens when it is to serve in my studio – otherwise i just take off the lens cap and wing it. I would welcome UV filters for protection outside and lens hoods to fight flare – but there are none to be fond.

Equally, I would welcome a set of diopter lenses to bring focusing in closer…but again these are only made in Germany and would be a special indent item from B+W.

Well, my desires are my desires, but at least Fujifilm have met one of them in their new 27mm f:2.8 lens Mark II. There is an aperture ring and there is a small lens hood. I think you are still going to suffer looking for a UV filter, but it’s a start. I suspect optical performance is identical.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.